There are eight major islands that make up the state of Hawaii.


The island of Hawaii is the largest island.


It was formed by volcanoes. Kilauea (4,090 ft. high) and Mauna Loa (13, 677 ft. high) are still active.

If you are having problems with this page, click on the Kilauea link above.

Haleakala (10,023 ft. high) on Maui has one of the world's largest extinct volcanic craters.


The highest point is Mauna Kea (13, 796 ft. high), an extinct volcano on Hawaii Island.

There are 132 islands that make up Hawaii, on which only eight are big enough for people to live.

Surfing was invented long ago in Hawaii by ancient Kings.



Home                           Next